New Toys Re-Visited

About a month ago, I wrote about some “new toys” that I was excited to check out. Here’s how they stacked up:

Audible.com – Big wah-wah on this one. The monthly subscription fee is $14.95 after the first three months ($7.49 for those), which gets you access to one book per month without any extra costs. If you listen to, and own, a lot of audio books, this may be a good option for you. Otherwise, get them from the library! The other downfall was that you had to download the books to a device of your choice, and they use up a lot of memory.

The only upside to checking out this toy was that I discovered Google eBooks, which was already loaded onto my Droid. I’ve found this to be a great way to carry a book with me at all times; I can read while I’m for appointments, waiting in line, etc. Even better, you don’t have to download the books to your phone, so you’re not using up memory.

Shelf Awareness – I found the description for this site to be misleading. It claims to deliver info on the best 25 books coming out each week, so I was expecting a 1-25 list delivered to my inbox once each week. The newsletter is so much better than that, though I’m not actually sure about the “info on the best 25 books coming out each week” part. It may be true but I haven’t counted. Shelf Awareness comes out twice per week and not only does it preview books to look out for, it contains news of interest specifically for readers. A must-get newsletter if you are an avid reader.

Net Galley – Still no e-reader, so I haven’t looked into this any further.

What Should I Read Next – I played around with this a little bit, but I still have so many unread books laying around and I’ve decided I should pay attention to those first!

FictFact – I’ve been reading non-series books lately, so I haven’t needed to use this site yet, but I will when I get back to the Immortal Secrets of Nicholas Flamel series!

BookSneeze and The B&B Media Group – In keeping with my pledge to read the books I already have at home first, I’ve decided to put further investigation into these sites on hold for now. Has anyone checked them out?

What reading “toys” have you discovered lately?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

