Homemade Carpet Shampoo

As all pet owners know, sometimes you just gotta give the carpets a good shampoo. I live in an apartment, so it’s a pain to rent a heavy carpet cleaner or schedule a company to come out. Fortunately, I inherited a home carpet cleaner from a friend.

Unfortunately, I’m pretty sure one of my cats is allergic to the solution that came with the cleaner.

I came across this recipe for homemade carpet shampoo and decided to give it a try. (Except, mine didn’t end up all natural because I used Dawn dish soap.) Here is the recipe, from survivingthestores.com:

(Note that the measurements are to fit the small cleaners, like the Bissell Little Green Deep Cleaner. I doubled them to fit my standard sized cleaner.)

1 1/2 quarts of hot (NOT boiling) water
1/4 cup of 3% Hydrogen Peroxide (regular Hydrogen Peroxide, usually comes in a dark brown plastic bottle)
1 1/2 Tablespoons of White Vinegar
1 1/2 Tablespoons of Dish Soap
About 1/8 of a teaspoon of your favorite essential oil(s) (I had a Eucalyptus/Spearmint blend that smelled great.)

Mix all of the ingredients together (be sure to add the dish soap to the water and not the water to the dish soap) and pour into your carpet cleaning machine, then clean according to the directions.

I loved that I was able to whip the solution together the same day that I found it without having to run to the store. The cleaner worked well, but required quite a bit of scrubbing in a couple of areas with pet stains. I would pre-treat those first next time.  It smelled great; I would use the same blend of oils again next time. And neither of my cats was bothered by it!

I definitely would recommend this solution as it works and is very wallet-friendly. Make sure to use an all-natural dish soap if you want to make it eco-friendly too.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Homemade Carpet Shampoo

  1. Wendy lester

    Hello – what were your cat’s symptoms? I think my cat is allergic to my carpet shampoo.

    • Hi Wendy,

      My cat was scratching quite a bit and threw up as well. Having had another cat with severe allergies, I felt the reaction indicated that allergies were the problem. I had tried it twice, and he reacted the same way both times. No problems when I used this natural cleaning solution.

      Good luck!

      Cindi

Leave a Reply

